top of page
SHC_2742.jpg

Mark Kovnatskiy Ensemble

Die Uraufführung des von Mark Kovnatskiy Ende 2003 gegründeten Ensembles namens Mark Kovnatskiy Ensemble  fand im Rahmen des 25. Festivals der Klesmer- und Weltmusik am 25. Mai open-air am Klesmerplatz in Salzgitter-Bad statt.

 

In seinem Ensemble hat Mark die Crème de la Crème der heutigen Klezmer-Szene Deutschlands versammelt, darunter:

 

Pianist, Akkordeonist, Komponist, einer der Pioniere des Klezmer-Revivals der 1980er Jahre; Leiter von Ensembles wie Brave Old World, Semer Ensemble und The Other Europeans; Leiter des internationalen Festivals Yiddish Summer Weimar, Dr. Alan Bern.

 

Kontrabassist, Dichter, Kabarettist, Teilnehmer zahlreicher Jazz- und Weltmusikprojekte, wie Jürgen Kok Trio, André Krikula Trio und Les Hommes du Swing, Axel Burkhardt.

 

Violinist, Sänger und Frontmann einer der erfolgreichsten Klezmer-Balkan-Gruppen Dobranotch, Mitglied der Gruppe ForshpilMitya Khramtsov.

 

Einer der weltweit führenden Klezmer-Schlagzeuger, Perkussionist, auch Mitglied von Dobranotch, Mitglied der Gruppe Forshpil, Evgenii Lizin.

Das Konzertprogramm „Di Naye Yidishe Melodyes“ (Neue jüdische Melodien) das das Ensemble aufführt, besteht ausschließlich aus Mark Kovnatskiys Originalmusik besteht, die im Stil traditioneller Klezmer-, chassidischer, moldawischer und ukrainischer Musik geschrieben und 2020 erstmals präsentiert wird.

 

Mark begann bereits 2004, seine eigene Musik zu komponieren, erst ein Jahr nachdem er begonnen hatte, jiddische Musik zu machen. Doch seine produktivste schriftstellerische Zeit begann im Jahr 2020. Gleichzeitig hatte Mark die Idee, ein Konzertprogramm zu erstellen, das ausschließlich aus seiner eigenen Musik besteht.

 

Viele seiner Melodien sowohl von Klezmer- als auch von klassischen Interpreten auf der ganzen Welt wurden aufgeführt, von den USA bis Japan, zum Beispiel von den Musikern des San Francisco Symphony (USA) und der Neuen Philharmonie Westfallen (DE), Steven Greenman (USA), „Klezmer Loshn“ (FR), „Dreydel Orchestra“ (JP).

 

Mark Kovnatskiy spielt sein Programm sowohl alleine mit seinem Ensemble, als auch begleitet von einer von ihm aufgenommenen Begleitung mit verschiedenen Musikinstrumenten, die den Klangeffekt eines Ensembles von 2 bis 10 Teilnehmern erzeugt.

bottom of page

top of page
SHC_2742.jpg

Mark Kovnatskiy Ensemble

The world premiere of the ensemble created by Mark Kovnatskiy at the end of 2023 called Mark Kovnatskiy Ensemble took place as part of the 25th Festival der Klesmer- und Weltmusik on May 25th open air at Klesmerplatz in Salzgitter- Bad, Germany.

 

In his ensemble, Mark has collected the crème de la crème of today's German klezmer scene, including:

 

Pianist, accordionist, composer, one of the pioneers of the klezmer revival of the 1980s; leader of such ensembles as Brave Old World, Semer Ensemble, and The Other Europeans; Director of the international festival Yiddish Summer Weimar, Dr. Alan Bern.

 

Contrabassist, poet, cabarettist, participant in many jazz and world music projects, such as Jürgen Kok Trio, André Krikula Trio, and Les Hommes du Swing, Axel Burkhardt.

 

Violinist, singer, frontman of one of the most successful klezmer-Balkan groups Dobranotch, member of the group ForshpilMitya Khramtsov.

 

One of the world's leading klezmer drummers, a percussionist, also a member of Dobranotch, member of the group Forshpil, Evgenii Lizin.

The program "Di Naye Yidishe Melodyes“ (New Yiddish Melodies, Yiddish) the ensemble is performing, consists of Mark Kovnatskiy's original music written in the style of traditional Klezmer, Hasidic, Moldavian, and Ukrainian music, presented for the first time in 2020.

 

Mark started composing his own music back in 2004, just a year after he started playing Yiddish music. But his most productive period of composing began in 2018. In 2020, Mark had the idea to create a concert program consisting exclusively of his own music.

 

As a result, many of his melodies began to be performed by both klezmer and classical performers around the world, from the USA to Japan, for example, the musicians of the San Francisco Symphony (USA) and Neue Philharmonie Westfalen (DE), Steven Greenman (USA), "Klezmer Loshn" (FR), "Dreydel Orchestra" (JP).

 

Mark Kovnatskiy performs his program both with his ensemble, or solo, accompanied by the playback recorded by him using a variety of musical instruments, creating the effect of the sound of an ensemble of 2 to 12 participants.

bottom of page